My friend, the psychopath.

You get it.

Ring leader of psychopaths, both foreign and domestic.

 

WARNING: This blog isn’t about Hillary Rodham Clinton, so, please, don’t get sexually aroused going into this thing.

I’m not a psychologist, but if I were, I would choose to study psychopaths, because they’re so gosh-darned interesting.  I’ve even given careful consideration to spending the bulk of my time with psychopaths.  You know, to spice it up a bit.  I know someone who I consider to be a psychopath.  Since I’m not a psychologist, I am hoping that someone with the credentials, or education (or just some person that thinks they’re a pillar of the mental health community (most avid YouTube commenters)) will help me make a determination.  So, what I’ve done is laid out all of her interesting behavior in the hopes that someone equipped with the arcane knowledge of the mind happens upon this blog.  Enjoy!

I’m referring to the possible psychopath as PaP for “Possibly a Psychopath”.

  • Occasionally, when PaP has been trying to get in touch with me, and I haven’t been able to pick up, or just didn’t want to, her reaction to my absence (many times, at least) goes like this: “I’ve been trying to get a hold of you, because I wanted you to come over, and help me have sex with all of these beautiful women I have over.”  It may be a different situation.  It’s actually, always a different situation, but you get the picture.
  • PaP has a very strong tendency to paint other people in the worst light.  When I first noticed her doing this, I credited it to her bitchiness, but now, I think it’s that she wants your loyalties to be with her alone.  If she makes you hate everyone else, then no one, except her, is left.  Devious, no?
  • She claims that she was a nurse in the past.  Normally, I would believe someone if they were to make this claim, because that happens in life.  Some women become nurses!  However, in her case, I rarely believe what she says, unless, I know for certain what PaP is saying is true, because I’ve witnessed it.  From time to time, where questions about something medical have come up, and if she doesn’t know the truth, she’ll just fabricate something.  People may have various reasons for doing this, and it’s something non-psychopaths have done, but I’m simply revealing her character as I go.  Now, I know when she’s doing this, because we’ve been associates for a few years, and I’m somewhat observant.  The voice pitch goes up, and it sounds like she’s struggling to say the right thing.
  • A favor with PaP is never a favor.  A favor for her is much like currency to get you do something for her later, and in most cases she’ll ask you to do something for her right away.  I wonder, sometimes, if she even needs what she is asking me for.
  • She feigns emotion.  I was telling PaP about a character in a movie getting hurt, while she was looking through her text messages (she rarely listens to what you’re saying unless its about her), towards the end of the story she looked up from her phone, and as she realized, that I realized she wasn’t listening, she started to act like she was so interested, and that she was gravely concerned for the person in the story.  The fake person in the story.  Her emotional affect sounded so contrived, and it actually creeped me out a bit.
  • She lives with someone who I’m actually friends with; this person takes care of her needs completely, but she’ll complain about him incessantly when he isn’t there.  I don’t think she cares about this person in any way.  I don’t think she’s ever said something nice about him while he’s absent, or otherwise.  This is different in her quest for your loyalty, because these tirades are about their relationship.  When she’s turning you against someone, she does it by highlighting things that were said about you in the situation.
  • We share another mutual friend.  We’ll call this dude “Tony”.  One day Tony called PaP complaining that he was very depressed, and was thinking about committing suicide.  While I’m sure she didn’t express this to him on the phone, when she related the story to me, she was angry and irritated at Tony, because he didn’t ask her how she was doing.  When we were discussing Tony’s call, she said something like this: “Tony only calls me when he’s suicidal anymore (as if he’s choosing to be suicidal, and only to call her to bitch about suicide).  Today, he didn’t even ask me what was going on with me when he called.  He just bitched about how much his life sucks.”  Her tone when saying this was, perhaps, the ugliest thing I’ve ever heard come out of a person’s mouth.  An aside:  It crossed my mind that she may have made the phone call up entirely, but wouldn’t it be even more sick to pretend to be irritated about another human being considering suicide?
  • She’s very concerned with what I’m having for dinner.  If she’s contacting me around dinner time, she’ll ask what I’m having almost always.  “Hey, whatchya havin for dinner over there?”
  • Her grammar is insanely accurate.
  • She’ll speak really poorly about people in my family while I’m present.  I’ve left, on several occasions while she’s doing this.  I realize that anything I say about her behavior will fall on apathetic ear drums.
  • She used to be obsessed with telling me how much she’s helping the guy she lives with, when I know that isn’t true in any normal sense.  She thinks that because she writes down how much money he owes out, and to whom he owes it out to, that she’s an invaluable member of the household.  In reality, I think she’s just trying to keep track of how much she’s going to steal.
  • The next few bullet points will be about how much she’s “helping” him.
  • She’ll go to pick up his check when he isn’t able, and will spend a lot of the money on herself.  When I say she spends it on herself, I don’t mean she spends it on anything she actually needs.  It’s usually drugs.
  • She drives his vehicle without a license, and has costed him thousands of dollars to get it out of the impound, and for her tickets.
  • She steals his vehicle when she wants to go somewhere.  Like, for drugs, for instance.
  • If her roommate needs to go pick something up for himself, then he goes all by himself; she rarely offers to go with him for company.  If she offers to go, it’s because she really wanted to get out of the house or she’s going to get something.
  • Their place is absolutely filthy.  Nicotine stains on everything, and just clearly not kept up with.  Her roommate works all day while she’s there with the mess.  She blames this on her depression, but I don’t think she’s ever actually been truly depressed in her life.
  • PaP is addicted to opiates, which is what it is, but when she met her roommate – he wasn’t.  Guess what she did!
I think this is accurate with psychopathy

I think this is accurate with psychopathy

You might be asking yourself why I willfully allow this person to remain in my life.  Our relationship is one borne out of necessity, and she’s very close to someone who I care for very much.  Also, it’s pretty  interesting to see what she’s going to do next.

It isn’t that I hate this person, but I’m interested in her behavior.  I realize that she is probably not choosing to be the who she is, and that psychopaths are just born with some faulty neural wiring, but its still interesting, and I hope you all enjoyed this article.

If you’re interested in psycopathy, then check out the Hare’s Psychopathy Checklist.  It is likely that you know one, and perhaps the Hare’s Psychopathy Checklist will act as a guide for you to determine your future course with this individual.  I wouldn’t recommend diagnosing them yourself for obvious reasons, but more importantly, you should probably be very careful about your dealings with such a person.  They have NO cares for you as an individual, and, most likely, your relationship with this person could end in a very bad way.

See the Hare’s Psychopathy Checklist (you have to scroll down a bit to get to the bullet point list): http://www.minddisorders.com/Flu-Inv/Hare-Psychopathy-Checklist.html

 

3 thoughts on “My friend, the psychopath.

  1. Interesting article. She may very well be a psychopath, but it is also quite possible that she has borderline personality disorder (psychopath’s evil cousin – usually found in females). Both conditions are similar, but people with BPD are emotional, just selfish. A psychopath is selfish, but we don’t really care if you approve. Someone with BPD often expects attention. Her being annoyed that your suicidal friend didn’t ask about her suggests that she cares about the attention. Also, she sounds VERY like my mother, who also had BPD. Also, a tell-tale sign might be whether she is aware of her condition. If she has BPD, she probably doesn’t know that she’s a bitch, and she’ll make up lies that even she starts to believe. These people are usually very hurt if you’re mean to them, but they don’t even realize how mean they are to other people. Something to look into anyway.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Great comment! Ya know, I used to date someone who is BPD (borderline), and though she differs in many ways, I do see a lot of similarities. The biggest difference I see is the BPD person I know is a lot more emotional, and she had REALLY drastic mood swings. Something to consider, anyway. Thanks for the feedback!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Glad you found it interesting. She really could have any cluster B personality disorder, I suppose a professional would be required to give a more accurate diagnoses. All the cluster B disorders – antisocial (psychopaths), borderline, narcissistic, and histrionic – share some similar traits.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

